TIDES Farewell Messages from TIDES Interns

By Jonathan Fredrickson

It is difficult to believe that it has been seven months since I first arrived at the Center for Technology and National Security Policy. Over the course of my extensive internship with TIDES, I have had countless opportunities to explore the field of international aid, humanitarian assistance, disaster relief, and everything in between as I developed my ability to conduct outreach, oversee network management and assist in event oversight. Simply put, I feel incredibly blessed to have worked with everyone within the TIDES project. Amy, Heather, Sam, David, Lou Elin, and Nelly have each imparted different lessons onto me and what I have learned will stay with me as I continue on my path, wherever it leads. Until next time I see TIDES again, all I can say is farewell and good luck.

By Kristin Cotter

I want to say what a great experience it has been working at the National Defense University with the TIDES team. I admire the work being done here and have learned a lot about technology, development, disaster response, and humanitarian assistance from the events I have attended and have helped organize, the research I have done, and most importantly from the people here at the Center for Technology and National Security Policy. I am very grateful to have been given this opportunity and hope that I have been able to contribute in some way to the greater efforts of the TIDES team. I will take this knowledge with me as I complete my final year as an undergraduate and begin to look towards my future beyond college. Thank you!

By Nicholas Arciniegas

When I accepted an internship to work at the TIDES project at the Center for Technology and National Security Policy, I could not fully have anticipated the tremendous opportunity that lay before me.  Reflecting on the past seven months, I am extremely gratified for the guidance provided by Lou Elin, David, Sam, and the entire staff. This internship has reaffirmed my dedication to national security law and defense by exposing me to such varied areas as humanitarian assistance disaster relief, public private partnerships, and civil military affairs integration.  I am equally appreciative of the challenging nature of the work, which among other things, gave me the chance to contribute to the “Iron Crucible” series of the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Joint Force War Games, represent TIDES at the 2014 National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) “Special Operations and Low-Intensity Conflict” (SOLIC) Conference, and address complicated legal questions involving collaboration with the private sector.

Going forward, I will value the lessons I have learned at TIDES and encourage anyone thinking about pursuing an internship in defense to consider applying to this internship. I wish everyone at CTNSP well and look forward to hearing many more great things about TIDES in the future.

About startides

TIDES Research Assistant Intern
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

